top of page

Blessed & Unfinished.

Hey friends!

Here's a post to help you procrastinate from studying for finals. Or a post to congratulate you for getting everything done on time!! You're a rockstar.

So two big things have been passing through my heart today in particular. Today is a big day. It's the feast of St. Louis de Montfort and St. Gianna Beretta Molla, and it's the day two of my dear friends here at Catholic University consecrated themselves to Mary (shoutout to Jordan and Angela, you guys are beautiful and wonderful and I'm so excited for you today!!)

Marian Consecration is a beautiful devotion to Mary that began in 1858 when St. Louis de Montfort wrote this awesome book called True Devotion to Mary. In a quick little summary, when an individual consecrates himself or herself to Mary, he or she offers everything they are and have to her for the salvation of souls. Every grace that comes from good deeds is given to Mary for her to use at her discretion to bring souls to Heaven. She takes great care of her children through this devotion. When it is questioned whether this devotion is sound in the Church, if it gives too much glory to Mary, Pope Pius XII wrote:

"Devotion to the Blessed Virgin in no way detracts from the Glory of God. Rather, it leads

us directly back to that Author of all good, Who has willed her to be so great and so pure."

And St. Bernard of Clairvaux:

"Let us not imagine that we obscure the glory of the Son by the great praise we lavish

on His Mother. The more Mary is honored, the greater is the glory of her Son."

And St. Josemaria Escriva:

"There is no danger of exaggerating. We can never hope to fathom this inexpressible

mystery nor will we ever be able to give sufficient thanks to our Mother for bringing us

into such intimacy with the Blessed Trinity."

Which brings me to another wonderful point about Mary: she will always, always, always bring us back to her Son, infinitely more perfectly than we could ever present ourselves to Him.

Beauty.

Alright, back to the blog. Sorry, I got distracted.

Okay, today's Gospel is one of my favorites, because Jesus tells us to love each other. Every Gospel tells us to do this, but today's is pretty obvious:

It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit

that will remain, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you. This I

command you: love one another."

John 15: 12-17

It is a much needed reminder that we are chosen. From the beginning, and even before that, Christ chose us to be His, and to bring others to Him. I let this sit with me for a little while, and was astounded when I heard these words, which we hear every Mass, but really struck my heart in an intimate way today:

"Behold the Lamb of God, behold Him who takes away the sins of the world.

Blessed are those called to the Supper of the Lamb."

He calls me blessed, every time. He says the word, and our souls are healed. We are made worthy. We are chosen by Him to be His own. He is so good, you guys. He chooses us. He loves us that much to want us, every single millisecond of every single hour of every single day. That is so much love.

I want to finish this post by saying that just as true as it is that we are chosen and blessed by Him, He is also unfinished with us. That's the beautiful theme of Life Teen camps this summer, and I'm ecstatic to say that He has chosen me to serve at Hidden Lake in Georgia.

He has big plans for you and your life. He wants to use you to bring others to Himself. He has this plan that will make you happier than you could ever make yourself. He wants to fill you up with every bit of peace, love, grace, acceptance that He can. He wants to send you out. He calls, even now:

Here I am, Lord. Is it I, Lord? I have heard you calling in the night. I will go, Lord,

if you lead me. I will hold your people in my heart.

He calls. Will you answer? He pursues your heart, even now. You are chosen by He who Is. You are loved into being, every moment of your life.

Say yes. It will be radical, life-changing, freeing, amazing, and heart-healing. He is love. He is all I need.

I'll see you in the Eucharist,

Cass


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page