top of page

Spiritual Summer Shenanigans

It has been far too long since I've written a post on my own blog. I have had one of the craziest, scariest, most amazing summers of my life, and I'm so excited to start my Senior year at Mount de Sales! I know it will be a very blessed year, and I'm even more excited to continue my discernment (for my vocation, jobs, and college. Prayers, please!!) :).

grad.jpg

The beginning of the summer was bittersweet, as I attended many graduation parties. I realized I wouldn't see many of my friends from school, youth group, and family as frequently as I had before. It also put this year into perspective. College scared me for a while, but seeing people I look up to moving in and making new memories helped me to realize that I want that.

Throughout the summer, I had a few golf tournaments. This doesn't seem like a religious thing, but trust me, it was. First, I became more thankful to my parents for the money and time they invest in me, even if I don't win the tournaments. They're always proud of me. I also found

JesusGolf1.jpg

myself praying in desperate situations, crazy shots that I couldn't pull off without "Divine intervention". I remember walking up to a tough par 3, thinking, "Mary, I'm really going to need your help with this one." And sure enough, I was the only one in my threesome to land on the green (pin high, might I add!). And St. Anthony helps with lost balls at least twice per round :).

I spent a week in New Jersey with my mom's side of the family at Culver Lake. It was beautiful! I love spending time with family.

July 18th, St John the Evangelist youth group left Maryland for Steubenville, Ohio! It was an amazing time of growth for me. I found that through this time of surrender, I've done my best to discern God's will, but I haven't really loved God through it. This years' Steubenville Conference helped me to discover that, and I fell back in love with the Lord again.

steubenville.jpg

I got a puppy! His name is Rocky, he's a mini Golden Doodle. Super cute.

1407885573829.jpg

August 3rd was the Seafood Fest with the other 2,000 Georges! Just kidding. But there are 20+ cousins and almost 20 second cousins. I could only stay for an hour because I that afternoon, I left for Camp Covecrest in Tiger, Georgia with St John's youth group! What an amazing journey (the van-ride was 10 hours, but I'm not talking about that journey ;)). As soon as we arrived, I was at home. It was a jam-packed week, full of energy and growth.

covecrest.jpg

At Steubenville, I figured out that I needed to fall in love with God again. But at Covecrest, God was like "Cass, you love me. and I love you. But I need you to trust me if you're going to follow my will." I was torn from my comfort zone, and had nothing to grip on to but Christ. One trust fall and a white water rafting trip later, I've never trusted in anyone more in my life. I was so nervous about the white water rafting, but I made it through without getting thrown off, even though I was terrified (I was trusting).

beauty.jpg

Through it all, God was like "Look at all the amazing memories you made. You did that by laying everything in my arms, and that is what I gave you. I only want the best for my daughter! I will not forsake you!"

Then some crazy stuff went down. I wrote a blog for Prolife Youth earlier this month called Jacob's Journey. It's the first of a three-part blog series about baby Jacob's fetal development. It caught fire. Then, the March for Life facebook page posted it, and it currently has 440 likes! March for Life also interviewed me. God is so good.

I'm patiently waiting on the Lord. I'm constantly loving and trusting His plan. I'm so excited to see what His future holds for me. I'm also super pumped to share it with you! :)

I hope you had an amazing summer, God Bless you!

Cass :)

PS: Check out these awesome videos made by my awesome friend, AJ! He's headed to James Madison for his freshman year, and I wish him the best of luck.

Steubenville:

Camp Covecrest:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page