top of page

Not Made For Comfort

Hi Friends,

I hope you're doing well! I wrote a week or two ago about how He turns rejection into beauty, but, like always, I'm having trouble listening to the wonderful words He speaks into my heart. It's not easy to be rejected, and I 100% get that.

So this past week, I realized that He wanted me. He's always wanted me, and He always will, more than I know, but He made it particularly clear this week. I didn't get the positions I applied for, I'm in the middle of some confusing housing situations for next semester, and I still don't know what I'm doing with my summer.

But that's okay. It's okay to be rejected and to not know. It's more than okay to be uncomfortable with that. Because, as my good friend, Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI once said, "You were not made for comfort. You were made for greatness."

His plan, while difficult to accept at first, is going to be what's best for you. And while it may seem like there are so many nos, or not right nows, there will be yeses. He is so for you, and He knows what His future holds for you.

So please, don't be jealous or upset or frustrated or mad, He has such beauty in store for you. And while you may feel stuck in uncertainty or disappointment, don't get caught up in it. In this very moment, as you read these words, He is in total pursuit of your heart. He is so in love with you at this moment, even with all of your baggage, your past mistakes, and your future mistakes. He doesn't want a perfect version of you. He won't make your life perfect, or comfortable in any sense.

He wants your heart so badly that He became as uncomfortable for you as He could. He outstretched His arms, breathed His last, and was not comfortable at all. But He did it so He could have you, in all your imperfections.

Jesus once said to St. Theresa of Avila, "I would create the world again to hear you say you love me." Let that hit the deepest depths of your heart for a minute. He would create every fish in the sea, every storm cloud, every blade of grass, every grain of sand, to ever exist, just to hear you say you love Him. He would accept the cross, He would die again, just to hear you say you love Him. He would become as simple as bread and wine and love you from the inside out, just to hear you say you love Him.

While we were not made for comfort, we were made for greatness. There is no greater love than He who created you.

So let Him love you, let Him hold you, and let yourself be uncomfortable.

I'll see you in the Eucharist, great creation of He who is love.

Cass


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page