top of page

Feminism: the Good, the Bad, and the Beautiful

When I say the word feminism, the first think I think of is crazed women, trying frantically to prove their dominant worth to an unapologetic and unwelcoming world. While much of that seems misdirected, there are so many things about it that are on point with genuine womanhood. Causing a fuss to get attention is certainly not the best display of feminine power, but wanting to be acknowledged and sought after is a natural and beautiful desire for all women. Perhaps so many women call themselves feminists because they desire that worth, equality, and beauty to be acknowledged by men.

Here's the catch: God has given worth, equality, and beauty to every woman, and He acknowledges it with our every breath.

The authentic woman, created as God intended, desires to be seen in the truth, in depths of her heart, and loved fully.

By fully, I don't mean some teenaged whimsical, romantic, candle-lit, heart throbbing love story. Quite the opposite, actually.

Webster's defines love as a feeling of strong or constant affection for a person.

Christ defines love as a full self-sacrifice out of the desire for and delight in another.

Today, feminists fight for equality with men, when in reality, God created women to be different than men, but complementary to each other. If she refuses to acknowledge her own worth, she won't look for respect from others. Until she sees her beauty is from the Father, she will never understand how much respect she deserves from others, thus accepting what the world will give her.

Today, the world tells her that she is not enough. Here's where feminism is on point:

Society will tell you "you're never going to be perfect. No matter what you do, you're worthless."

Feminism will tell you "you are worth it! You should receive the benefits and respect of all."

As genuine as that is, Christ takes it deeper. God tells you "you are my daughter. Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you. I knew who you were going to become, your quirks, your favorite foods, and your deepest desires. I want to show you all that I have planned for you, to give you hope, and a future. I want so much more for you than equality with others. Through you, I will bring others closer to Me. I have a person in mind for you who will blow your mind. Allow me to work through you, and through him, and when the time is right, you will fall in love with each other. I have made him differently than I have made you. You will create a beautiful legacy together, but it will only come to fruition if you fulfill your duties to each other. He will pursue your heart, protect you, and lead you closer to Me. You will show him a more beautiful side of Me, that I have placed in the hearts of all women. You will lead him closer to Me. Know that I am constantly pursuing your heart, fixing the broken cracks, and filling the gaps. Keep allowing me to work through you. You are feminine. You are beauty. You are Mine. I love you."

**Disclaimer: I'm so for equality for women in the workplace, in treatment among peers, and in society in general. Please understand that the purpose of this blog is to bring to light the true meaning of feminism as God created womanhood to be.**

Pic: http://sheslikeaghost.tumblr.com/post/50919878242


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page