top of page

True Superheroes

I'm going to let you know something about me, I'm crazy for a good superhero story. The action, adventure, heart-wrenching back story, the damsel in distress, the evil villain, the cheesy ending. It's all too, too good. Truly, Hollywood at its finest. But there's something I think we tend to miss when we're watching these intense movies. What's the point? I mean really, documentaries teach you things, comedies make you laugh, dramas make you cry, but what can we really learn from a buff guy in spandex? Superheroes date back to Jesus. Surprise! No, not the superheroes we know. Actually, Jesus is a superhero. He is the basis for every chivalrous hero to fly (or swim or run or walk, I don't judge) though our earth. They defend life, and are willing to die for good. In Joshua 1:9, the Lord literally says,

"I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go."

What a call to action! God doesn't lightly suggest that we're sort of brave and go to Church with our parents on Sundays. God COMMANDS that we're strong and corageous, and to be brave enough to stand up for our beliefs, even if it means persecution from others.

Let's look at COURAGEOUS: it comes from the Latin, "cor," which means heart. I think certain meanings are lost in translation quite often. God wants us to believe, to stand up, to speak out, with all of our hearts.

Then, He promises He'll be with us no matter what. He is always there. Even in your moment of failure, when you think you've completely crossed the line, He is waiting with open arms.

This verse is literally the way to Sainthood. If we truly followed it, and loved others unconditionally, no matter their actions or words, we'd see Christ so much clearer.

So, yes. I'm obsessed with superheroes. But while I recognize that they're fictional and can fail, I know that with God behind me, I'm unstoppable.

Christ, show me Your love. Open my heart. Let Yourself shine through me. Help me to be courageous in all that I do, with all of my heart.

Amen.

Picture: http://desktop.freewallpaper4.me/view/original/6175/marvel-superheroes.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page